top of page

2021 IPC Governing Board nominees announced

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) announced on Monday 20 September the names of the candidates who will stand for election to the IPC Governing Board on Sunday 12 December at the IPC General Assembly in Taipei City, Chinese Taipei.

A total of 26 nominees have been approved by the IPC, and the IPC’s announcement effectively heralds the start of campaigning for the 12 positions available within the IPC Governing Board. There is one candidate for the position of IPC President: Andrew Parsons. There is also one candidate for the role of Vice President: Duane Kale. Twenty-five candidates have been nominated for Member at Large positions. One candidate – Duane Kale - has been nominated for two positions, although he can only be elected for one position. The IPC Governing Board will consist of one President, one Vice President and 10 Members at Large and all will be elected by the IPC membership which consists of National Paralympic Committees (NPC), International Sports Federations, International Organisations of Sport for the Disabled (IOSDs) and Regional Organisations. The nominees for all roles, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows (Nationality and nominating body in brackets): FOR IPC PRESIDENT (one to be elected) Andrew Parsons (Brazil – NPC/ International Federation for Equestrian Sports (FEI)/ International Table Tennis Federation/International Wheelchair and Amputee Sports Federation/ World Archery) FOR IPC VICE PRESIDENT (one to be elected) Duane Kale (New Zealand – NPC) FOR MEMBER AT LARGE (ten persons to be elected) Debra Alexander (South Africa – World Triathlon) Mohamed Alhameli (UAE – NPC) Jai-Jun Chung (Korea – NPC) Leonel da Rocha Pinto (Angola - NPC) Muffy Davis (the USA – NPC) Chelsey Gotell (Canada – NPC) Khatab Hayat (Egypt – NPC) Sabrina Ibanez (Switzerland – FEI) Duane Kale (New Zealand – NPC) Tanja Kari (Finland – NPC) Miki Matheson (Japan – NPC) Ming-Chu Mu (Chinese Taipei – NPC) Luca Pancalli (Italy – NPC) John Petersson (Denmark – NPC) Juan Pablo Salazar (Colombia – NPC) Karl Quade (Germany – NPC) Majid Rashed (UAE – Asian Paralympic Committee) Ehud Rassabi (Israel – NPC) Tim Reddish (UK – NPC) Imran Jamil Shami (Pakistan – NPC) Gursharan Singh (India – NPC) Robyn Smith (Australia – Virtus) László Szabó (Hungary – NPC) Esther Vergeer (Netherlands – NPC) Jianmin Zhou (China – NPC) On Friday 10 December each candidate will have the opportunity to make a presentation on their candidature to the IPC membership attending the IPC General Assembly in Taipei City. All nominee applications have been reviewed by the IPC Credentials Commission, which has declared that these nominations meet the formal administrative requirements for consideration for election to the IPC Governing Board as outlined in the respective Bylaws. The IPC Credentials Commission is composed of: Mark Copeland, Chairperson (New Zealand) Linda Mastandrea, member (USA) Louis Muncey, member (UK) As part of its ongoing remit, the IPC Credentials Commission will be working with an external certifying agency to finalise the vetting of candidate backgrounds during the next several weeks. Accompanying the announcement of candidates for election is the activation of the IPC Electoral Commission, which will act to ensure that all candidates adhere to the IPC Code of Ethics Appendix B: Governing Board Elections & Campaign Rules. The IPC Credentials Commission is composed of: Mark Copeland, Chairperson (New Zealand) Annamarie Phelps, member (UK) Fed Jansen, member (Netherlands) About the International Paralympic Committee The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) is the global governing body of the Paralympic Movement. It coordinates the organisation of the Paralympic Games and the Paralympic Winter Games. The IPC’s vision is to make for an inclusive world through Para sport.

8 views0 comments


bottom of page